Blintz with a twist

29 Jul

Blintz with a twist

I had seen some advertisement or some program comparing the food with the dish that moms make it and I couldn’t remember the name of this dish. But I was so determined to find out because I remembered some of the ingredients.  I literally sat through the entire afternoon sifting through recipes and useless ads until I bumped onto this name “Blintz”. I am not sure of the origin, but it sounded like a German word. Wikipedia doesn’t mention Germany though, it does mention Russia. As Shakespeare said “What’s in a name?”  I read a lot of recipes but most of them were sweet. I thought of getting an Indian version done. It could be a snack or breakfast. This was the first time I tried it so did not make this one crispy, but I think it could become crispy if done on a lower heat. Try it and let me know.

Tip: You can also replace the fillings with cheese, jams/marmalade(I melted it a little), canned fruits. If you are trying a sweet Blintz make sure you add sugar to the batter and not add any veggies like the onions and garlic. You could also fill in leftover stuff I think as a filling.

All you need:

BATTER-

  1. 2 eggs, beaten well
  2. 1 cup all-purpose flour or maida
  3. 1/2 tsp. salt
  4. 1 cup water

FILLING-

  1. 2 potatoes (peeled, boiled, grated) P.S : You could use just grated raw potatoes too
  2. 1 onion (chopped & sautéed ) P.S : You could use just grated raw onion too
  3. 1 egg hard boiled and mashed into small pieces
  4. Juliennes of ginger or a tsp of ginger garlic paste
  5. 1 finely chopped green chilli
  6. Salt & pepper to taste
  7. Oil for frying

Ready, Set, Go:

  1. Combine all the ingredients for the batter except for the flour, add flour gradually and stir in to make a smooth batter. Make sure you have no lumps.
  2. Mix all ingredients  in a bowl for the filling (For kids, you can just mash everything up in the food processor)
  3. Heat a round 6-7 inch pan and grease it lightly, keeping the heat on medium flame. Pour in the batter in the center and spread it evenly rotating the pan quickly. If you have excess batter pour back into the bowl.
  4. Cook till light golden brown like a pancake. You do not need to cook the other side. Remove it on a separate plate.
  5. Place a tablespoon of filling on the center of the cooked side and fold the sides into a square one by one.
  6. Heat sufficient oil in a pan (I used the same pan after I was finished with cooking the Blintz base).
  7. Fry all the Blintzes one by one until golden on all sides.
  8. Serve with Sour cream.
2 Responses to “Blintz with a twist”

  1. Chloe Williams November 11, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    Thank you for posting these recipes. I have copied down the recipes for 3 of them as they look that good, especially the Shahi-Tukda. However tonight I only have the ingredients to make the Blintz with a twist so that is what Im going to make. The Shahi-Tukda I’ll make later on in the week.

    • poohalicious November 29, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      Wow! Thanks Chloe…your comment inspires me to post more recipes! 😀 Thank you so much again!

Leave a Reply

Life of Srish

Because every tiny thing is worth a snapshot

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Taste For Tongue

Sassy-Sizzling-Spicy

Arrka e-Security Solutions

InfoSec - Simplified

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

