Fodni Anda Bhaaji (Tempered Masala Eggs)

10 Oct

Eggs and I go back a long time. I cannot stop humming a Hindi song as I write this post. We became friends very easily. My morning always started with 3 toasted slices of bread and fried egg. I have never parted with eggs. I read and hear rumors about egg and cholesterol, egg and fat, but I ignore them all! I know I love eggs and have been eating them for so many years. And a boiled egg does no harm at all! This is a recipe my dad used to make when it was almost grocery shopping time, when we would have run out of veggies, meat or fish. Its called Anda Bhaaji, bhaaji meaning vegetable in Marathi so it replaces everyday greens with eggs! and Anda means egg so Anda Bhaaji . It is so quick and easy to make and I could eat it just as or with roti or rice or dump it in a sandwich with lots of mayo!

Tip: I hard boil eggs for approximately 8 minutes and simmer them for 2 minutes. Water should be enough to see the egg tip bobbing out of the water. I add a pinch of salt so they don’t crack.I let them sit in the hot water before trying to peel them for 5 minutes more. Then run them under cold water and the shells peel off easily, this also gives you a nice bright yellow yolk without the dark edges.

https://mefoodatarian.wordpress.com/

All you need:

  1. 4 eggs (hard boiled) chopped
  2. 1 medium sized onion finely chopped
  3. 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  4. 1/4 tsp cumin seeds
  5. a pinch asafoetida or hing (found in Indian stores)
  6. 1 tsp turmeric powder
  7. a pinch of red chili powder (optional)
  8. 1 green chili chopped
  9. 1 tsp ginger-garlic paste or finely chopped garlic
  10. 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  11. salt to taste
  12. 1-2 tbsp oil
  13. cilantro for garnishing

Ready, Set, Go:

  1. Heat oil in a pan. Add the mustard seeds and let them splatter. Immediately add cumin seeds and asafoetida.
  2. Add the green chili and the onions and saute till they are soft and pink.
  3. Add ginger garlic paste and fry till the raw smell disappears or about a minute.
  4. Now add turmeric and the boiled eggs. Mix well and carefully so that the eggs are not mashed.
  5. Sprinkle red chili powder, salt and lemon juice. Mix. Turn the heat off.
  6. Garnish with cilantro! Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

Life of Srish

Because every tiny thing is worth a snapshot

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Taste For Tongue

Sassy-Sizzling-Spicy

Arrka e-Security Solutions

InfoSec - Simplified

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

