Not just in the kitchen – Preservatives (Lemon)

22 Oct

Tyappp!!! Just mentioning lemon creates a whirlpool of saliva in my mouth! Not just the scent of lemon but as far as I have heard these are the uses and I would like to share as many as I know. If you have any more uses, let me know, I will add them to the list. Thank you.

Lemon

  • Lemonade
  • Lemon juice is mainly used in cooking as the ‘finishing touch’ or to add to the flavor or as marinade.
  • Lemon juice is also used to curdling the milk for making Paneer, ‘Indian Cottage Cheese’.
  • Lemon rind can also be used for baking, cooking and adding flavor.
  • Lemon juice when mixed with honey and warm water gives a boost to the digestive system and detoxifies the body.
  • Lemon rubbed on tanned skin and washed off after 15-20 minutes reduces the tan.
  • Lemon is a natural cleanser for face but sadly my skin is too sensitive. You can make home made facial masks by adding honey or egg whites.
  • Lemon juice is also effective for bleeding gums.
  • Lemon and curd mixed together and applied on scalp can help relieve itching scalp and dandruff.
  • Lemon scent is used in aromatherapy for calming and relaxation.
  • Lemon is added to food like dal and rice in Maharashtrian cuisine because it increases salivation.
  • In olden times when dish washing soap or detergents were not available, people would use lemon and salt to wash utensils and even polish silverware or even use it on the gums and teeth.
  • Lemon and salt can also be used for brushing teeth.
  • Lemon juice and vinegar can be combined to wipe off refrigerators, microwaves to eliminate odors and cleaning them.
  • I have seen my dad rub lemon slices on his fingers after he’d marinate turmeric in mutton or fish to remove the stench or stains of turmeric.
  • Sucking on a lemon slice helps an upset stomach.

I can think of only so many right now. But I am sure there are more than this. But all the above have been tried. I am not sure if lemon is a condiment. I wish I’d know better.

Leave a Reply

Life of Srish

Because every tiny thing is worth a snapshot

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Taste For Tongue

Sassy-Sizzling-Spicy

Arrka e-Security Solutions

InfoSec - Simplified

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

