Indian Masala Omelette

1 Apr

I had to make a quick post for reference. If I can rant about how much I love an Indian Masala Omelette, I can keep going at it for a long time, but as I said this is a quick post for reference. I can eat this for breakfast, lunch or dinner, I can even gulp it down at tea-time. Ooh, I am a tea-lover, not much of a coffee person, I prefer a cold coffee over a hot one which could be insulting to all the coffee addicts out there. Ha ha, too much talking everything other than the Indian Masala Omelette! This recipe will yield only one serving. Here goes.

https://mefoodatarian.wordpress.com/

Tip: Sprinkling cheese will be heavenly, just when its hot, any type of cheese will make it a melty, yummy Indian Masala Cheese Omelette!

All you need:

  1. 2 Eggs
  2. 2 tbsp chopped onion, I roughly chop it to keep the crunch, you can chop it finely whatever suits your taste.
  3. 1 green chili, finely chopped (Indian chilies are pretty hot, one is enough for the right spicy hot taste)
  4. 1 tbsp finely chopped tomato(optional, I don’t add it for my husband, the one in the picture is clearly my husband’s serving)
  5. 2 tbsp cilantro, finely chopped
  6. 1 tbsp milk
  7. 1 tsp turmeric
  8. 1 tsp red chili powder (optional, if you think the green chili is enough spice for you skip this, I love it for the extra kick, tasty!)
  9. Salt as required
  10. Black pepper powder, a pinch
  11. 2 tbsp Oil/ Butter (I love it when the sides are oily, you can cut this down to half)

Ready, Set, Go:

  1. Whisk the eggs till a little frothy. Add all the ingredients except the oil and whisk a little again.
  2. On medium low flame heat a round pan preferably an 8″ or smaller so that the omelette fluffs up nicely in the pan.
  3. Pour oil and swirl it around the pan, when it starts to swirl easily, that’s the right amount of hot.
  4. Pour the egg mixture in the center and swirl it around the pan making sure the entire pan is covered.
  5. Cook until the edges look firm and the omelette is fluffy and bubbly.
  6. Flip it over and cook for 20-30 seconds or until it is firm yet moist.
  7. Serve hot with toasted slices of bread or buns.

https://mefoodatarian.wordpress.com/

One Response to “Indian Masala Omelette”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kayloli (Rice flour veggie omelette/dosa/pancake) | Foodatarian - April 3, 2014

    […] Indian masala omelette is a mix of spices with eggs, I could not think of a better translation of what a […]

Leave a Reply

Life of Srish

Because every tiny thing is worth a snapshot

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Taste For Tongue

Sassy-Sizzling-Spicy

Arrka e-Security Solutions

InfoSec - Simplified

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

