Methichi Bhaji (fenugreek vegetable Maharashtrian style)

2 May

Fenugreek (Methi) is often a mystery for many. In Indian cooking, the dried fenugreek leaves are used for a distinct taste which goes really well with any protein based vegetable preparation or meat curry. The seeds are used as a paste or as a crunchy addition to some dishes, they will also render a nutty taste when fried or toasted. This is one  of my favorite green leafy vegetables. I have a very embarrassing story which I cannot tell since its too gross to reveal on a food blog, I can turn away many people from my blog with that story…but I tell it personally when I share my love-hate relationship with this vegetable. Anyway, since I love the vegetable for the most part, I would like to share the quick and easy recipe that is my absolute favorite and I thank my mom for writing it down for me which was a savior. When I was married I carried a book with recipes written down dictated by my mom or dad for my marriage to survive, since I could not cook at all! Ha ha…so here it is which I have mastered years down the line.

Tip: When picking up the vegetable, make sure that the leaves are medium size not too small not too large since it can leave a bitter taste when cooked. Also find ones that are fresh in color and do not have a yellowish tinge.

https://mefoodatarian.wordpress.com/

All you need:

  1. 1 bunch of fresh Fenugreek leaves, chopped (sometimes you need to use 2 since it can be too small and it shrinks down a lot after cooking. Refer to Point 1 for more details.)
  2. 2 medium sized onions, finely chopped
  3. 1-2 green chilies, slit (de-seeded if you like less spicy)
  4. 3-4 garlic cloves, finely chopped (I use like 4-6 since I love the flavor)
  5. 1 cup of freshly grated/shredded coconut (I won’t substitute dried coconut here, it just doesn’t give the exact taste)
  6. 1 tsp mustard seeds
  7. a pinch asafoetida (‘hing’ as we call it, just too good for dals and Indian vegetables, a must-have in Indian pantry)
  8. 1 tbsp oil
  9. salt to taste

Ready, Set, Go:

  1. First of all, sort and pick out only the fenugreek leaves. In a colander rub gently the fenugreek leaves with salt and run it under water it might wash out some color, but don’t worry, that also helps get rid of any residues of dirt. Alternatively you might dunk the leaves in a large bowl of water mixed with salt and let it sit for about 2-3 minutes, lift them up gently  and throw away the water(my mom used this to water her plants) and the residue that will settle down.
  2. Chop the leaves. Set aside.
  3. Heat a wok or a deep pan with oil on medium heat. When the oil is hot enough, add the mustard seeds. Let them crackle, add the asafoetida, let it sizzle for a second or two, add the green chilies. Saute for half a minute.
  4. Toss in the garlic. Saute for a minute.
  5. Add the chopped onions and let them cook down until soft and transparent.
  6. Time to add the fenugreek leaves. Mix well. Add half of the grated coconut and salt, be careful with the salt here, you can always add more later.
  7. Cover it and cook for about 8-10 minutes. The leaves will shrink down and cook in its own juices.
  8. Turn off the heat, sprinkle remaining coconut. Serve hot with chapati/roti/bhakri.
2 Responses to “Methichi Bhaji (fenugreek vegetable Maharashtrian style)”

  1. Aruna Panangipally May 3, 2014 at 1:05 am #

    I make a similar Bhaji wit besan. Will try this version soon.

    • poohalicious May 9, 2014 at 1:45 am #

      Yes, some of my friends cook leafy veggies in besan. Its equally yummy. The more onion the better for this one 😉

Leave a Reply

Life of Srish

Because every tiny thing is worth a snapshot

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Taste For Tongue

Sassy-Sizzling-Spicy

Arrka e-Security Solutions

InfoSec - Simplified

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

